5, 4, 3, 2, 1, BLAST OFF!

11 10 2007

angkasawan-negara.JPG
Dr. Sheikh Muzaphar in the rocket, preparing himself.

Yesterday, I watched the rocket blast off into space. I think the rocket model is a Soyuz TMA-11. It blasted from Kazakhstan, Russia. The blasted off precisely at 9:21 pm, Malaysian time. He went with Yuri Malenchenko, a Russian engineer and Peggy Whitson, an American mission commander, who is also the pilot.

iss-crew-xvi.JPG

Papa said that the pilot had been in training for this particular event since 1997. It will take them, about 2 days to reach the International Space Station (ISS). The ISS is orbiting the Earth at a height of 360km from the surface of the ocean.

That is very, very high up to be spending Hari Raya Aidil Fitri!

I think, that the reason he went to space is to do some experiments. His and also some other people’s. One of the experiments he’ll be doing is my uncle’s. My mother’s brother is genetics professor in UiTM and Dr. Sheikh is expected to do some experiments for my uncle.

Papa said, he is a 35-year-old orthopedic surgeon and was his school-mate in MRSM. He also has the Malaysian flag on his left sleeve of his spacesuit. There was also a Jalur Gemilang painted outside the Soyuz spacecraft. We are very lucky to have him go into outer space just for some experiments for Malaysian scientists.

Papa also told me Dato’ Marina Mahathir wrote about her father watching the historical event for Malaysia from the hospital where he is admitted.

Papa said Dr. Sheikh also blogged about his preparation for this journey. I hope to meet him someday, as a fellow blogger. He will be inspiring to people like me. I hope I am will also be given an opportunity to go space one day and do experiments for science. We pray that he will have a safe trip to and back from space.

angkasawan-logo.jpg

Actions

Information

11 responses

11 10 2007
MarinaM

Hello Aishah! Nice post! So much more real info than mine (but thanks for the link). Whatever anyone says, nobody can take away from Sheikh Muszaphar the fact that he’s the first Malaysian ever in space. That really makes him special, don’t you think?

When he comes back, maybe we should try and get him to have an interview session with young bloggers like you. That would be soooo cool!

Wish you, your Papa and Mama a Selamat Hari Raya Aidil Fitri, maaf zahir bathin!

Thanks Aunty! Selamat Hari Raya to you too!

12 10 2007
Syed Nakhwat

Saya Ucapkan Selamat Hari Raya Adilfitri to you Dr Sheikh Muzaphar, One day, i will follow!! you

12 10 2007
fattahiah

assalamualiakum..i am very proud with u my idol.i am form 5 in science stream and i want to continue my study in aerospace engineering.all coz of u.u give me strenght..all d bez my idol.

12 10 2007
Munira

Aishah, anyone can be a scientist if they want to. You need to have the vision, ambition and drive. Nothing is impossible.

Let me tell you a story. When I was in school, I always told people I wanted to be a scientist. People kept telling that, “Oh, you need to be *really* good in science” (I wasn’t very good with science subjects at that time), “There is no good career in Malaysia if you are a scientist”, and “Why be a scientist? You won’t make money!*

Today, when I sit and think about it, I realized that I am very glad I never took these negative comments to heart. To be honest, I felt discouraged by them and nearly gave up. Now, I am happy with my choice of field. I am doing forensic sciences and I’m in love with my field. I have to thank my parents for encouraging me to follow my dreams.

And yes, I still have people telling me that forensics is “not a money-making future”. But I’m happy and satisfied, and that’s what counts.

Always follow your dreams, your heart and your head. Don’t let people tell you what to do or whom you should be.

Besides, we need more scientists in Malaysia. I hope you will become one someday, too.

I planned to be a doctor someday and I hope to accomplish it. Thank you for your support!

19 10 2007
intan

hai saya sgt sukakat sheikh……..

19 10 2007
intan

semoga sheikh sampai ke bumi dgn selamat…alhamdullilah…….sheikh ada makwa x kalau x de boleh sye makwe sheikh…hehehe

19 10 2007
intan

sorry kat atas salah tulis nak tulis boleh jadi makwe sheikh???saya ada buat puisi yang saya reka sendiri khas buat sheikh………

24 10 2007
zahraa

yeah of course he has a girlfriend..
i know him very well….

30 10 2007
nono

Hahah! I laughed when I read this:
sorry kat atas salah tulis nak tulis boleh jadi makwe sheikh???

OMG! OMG! OMG! đŸ™‚ That’s the the thing that I can say. lol!

Oh yea, I adore Dr.Sheikh too! All thing is possible and believe me sweet, what the mind can conceive and believe it can achieve. I really hope that we’ll be among the successful people who is able to be the aspiration and inspiration to all. Urm since you love electronics, why don’t you take engineering (in the future)? Jom tambah the number of Muslim – Malay engineers in this country. Shall we? =)

Hey,MarinaM idea sounds cool!

P.s Al-Fatihah to Dr. Sheikh brother.

5 11 2007
HARITH SYAZWAN

ASALAMUALAIKUM,SHEIKH.
KAMI SEMUA BANGGA ATAS KEJAYAAN DR SHEIKH PERGI KE ANGKASA LEPAS.INSYAALAH,SAYA MEMPUNYAI CITA-CITA UNTUKMENJADI ANGKASAWAN.SAYA AKAN MENGIKUTI JEJAK SHEIKH.

6 11 2007
syarahhanim

tahniah tahniah tahniah and tahniah buat anda …. kejayaan anda adalah inspirasi saya sebagai pelajar universiti… syukur kepada Ilahi… anda telah menunaikan impian saya sejak kecil ingin menjadi angkasawan dan ingin menjelajahi bulan dan sewaktu dengannya…hehehehe.secara tidak langsung…anyway your career and your ambition make me bersemangat….

Leave a Reply

